Leaving on a Jet Plane*

All my bags are packed
I’m ready to go
I’m standin’ here outside your door
I hate to wave to you and say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin’
It’s early morn
The shuttlebus’s waitin’
He’s blowin’ his horn
Already I’m so excited
To get home

So wave to me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll accreditate me
Or hire me full time and never let me go
‘Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
I know exactly when I’ll be back again
Oh yeah, on August 30th

So many times I’ve tried to not let you down
So many times I’ve played around
I tell you now, they don’t mean a thing
Ev’ry place I go, I’ll think of you
Ev’ry song I sing, I’ll sing for you
When I come back, I’ll bring it and pass your test

So wave to me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll accreditate me
Or hire me full time and never let me go
‘Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
I know exactly when I’ll be back again
Oh yeah, on August 30th

Now the time has come to leave you
In the meantime
I’ll work hard for you
To have the chance
To accreditate me
Dream about the days to come
When I won’t have to leave at all
And I get to bring my little family along

Oh, wave to me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll accreditate me
Or hire me full time and never let me go
‘Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
I know exactly when I’ll be back again
Oh yeah, on August 30th

But, I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
I know exactly when I’ll be back again
Oh yeah, on August 30th

*With modifications to suit the current situation. Sorry, John Denver. Though I think you’d like it. Are you even alive? Should look into that. (Nope, very much not alive since 1997.)

